Registered members do not see this advertisement! Remove it by signing up for free.
genesis motors forum   genesis motors forums

Direct Links: Genesis Motors Brand | Genesis G70 | Genesis G80 | Genesis G90 | Genesis Sedan | Genesis Coupe | Equus
Genesis Forum: Entering Phone Numbers
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    MN2828 is offline Hasn't posted much yet... What I drive: 4.6 V8 Tau Sedan
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Age
    49
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Entering Phone Numbers

    Members don't see this ad
    Now that I am past the inexcusable failure to load my cell phone's address book (and that the dealer told me I could), I can't figure out how to program a pause into a phone number. For example, to call my voicemail at work, I would dial

    123-456-7890 (pause) extension#password#

    It is set up on my blackberry that way (and my last car did load the address book -- but I'm not bitter).

    Any suggestions?

    If this has been answered elsewhere I apologize but I can't find it with search.


  2. #2
    dataguy's Avatar
    dataguy is offline Registered Member What I drive: Genesis 3.8 V6 Sedan
    I live in Los Angeles, CA area
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,267
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Entering Phone Numbers

    Quote Originally Posted by MN2828 View Post
    Now that I am past the inexcusable failure to load my cell phone's address book (and that the dealer told me I could), I can't figure out how to program a pause into a phone number. For example, to call my voicemail at work, I would dial

    123-456-7890 (pause) extension#password#

    It is set up on my blackberry that way (and my last car did load the address book -- but I'm not bitter).

    Any suggestions?

    If this has been answered elsewhere I apologize but I can't find it with search.
    There is no way to enter a pause. I use the pause for the same purpose.

    The only way to use the hands-free is to dial the call via the entry on your Blackberry and use the car as a dumb BT speaker.

    Blame the Germans...it's a Harman Becker system.

    EDIT: You can also probably blame your salesman too. Perhaps s/he was thinking of the system in either the Coupe or the Premium Navigation package on the Sedan (which uses a Hyundai-developed system) -- they import phonebooks. Don't know about the pause though.
    2009 Genesis Sedan 3.8 (Tech)
    Titanium Grey/Black (Rebadged)
    <-- Track your Genesis MPG at Fuelly
    Best MPG: 29.0, Worst MPG: 18.8

  3. #3
    Midnightsun is offline Been here awhile... What I drive: 2G Genesis 5.0 V8 Ultimate
    I live in Montreal, Canada
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Age
    58
    Posts
    2,005
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Entering Phone Numbers

    Actually if you have the tech package it defaults to the number entry screen once the preset has dialled the number wanted. Dialling any extension afterwords with the control knob is a piece of cake.

  4. #4
    dataguy's Avatar
    dataguy is offline Registered Member What I drive: Genesis 3.8 V6 Sedan
    I live in Los Angeles, CA area
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Age
    42
    Posts
    1,267
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Entering Phone Numbers

    Yeah, but that defeats the purpose of having an address book entry with the pauses built in. I have one on my cell that dials my voicemail, waits, then enters my mailbox number, waits, and then dials the password. One button and you're in.

  5. #5
    MN2828 is offline Hasn't posted much yet... What I drive: 4.6 V8 Tau Sedan
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Age
    49
    Posts
    4
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Entering Phone Numbers

    Quote Originally Posted by dataguy View Post
    Yeah, but that defeats the purpose of having an address book entry with the pauses built in. I have one on my cell that dials my voicemail, waits, then enters my mailbox number, waits, and then dials the password. One button and you're in.
    My point. The whole idea of the Bluetooth is so that I am not pushing buttons. It is not really a piece of cake to have to enter 4 numbers # then 4 numbers # and then another number. Very distracting having to scroll around and around.

    Why would anyone build a Bluetooth system for a car without the ability to push the phone book? (Rhetorical question).

    So that I understand this correctly -- the most expensive system is the least capable! Go figure

  6. #6
    ctrcbob is offline Registered Member What I drive: Genesis 4.6 V8 Tau Sedan
    I live in Mount Dora FL; Penfield NY; Roswell NM
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,598
    Rep Power
    9

    Default Re: Entering Phone Numbers

    You may want to buy a 2011 Sonata. Don't know about the "pause", but you can upload all the phone numbers from your cell to the 2011 Sonata Bluetooth.
    Bob CTRC
    USN Ret.

    Mount Dora, FL (It Could Be Worse)
    Penfield, NY (A Quiet Rochester Suburb)
    Roswell, NM (Alien Central)


    09 Genesis 4.6 Tech (Sold)
    10 SHO Ecoboost Twin Turbo
    11 MKZ

  7. #7
    csyria is offline Registered Member What I drive: 3.8 V6 Sedan
    I live in New York
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Age
    42
    Posts
    16
    Rep Power
    0

    Default Re: Entering Phone Numbers

    Members don't see this ad
    try copying your entire phone book into your sim card first and then pair it with the car, I have the touch screen nav. and I realized the system only picks up the numbers stored on your sim but not the ones on the memory card, I'm not sure if it works the same on DIS but it's worth trying

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
MADISON ROSS MEDIA GROUP MARKETPLACE
Need products for your Hyundai Genesis? Check out your options at the links below: