2016 Equus Ultimate

MG8

Proud owner of two Genesis vehicles
San Francisco/Las Vegas
Genesis Model Type
1G Genesis Sedan (2009-2014)
no filter, you can either do a drain and fill x 5qts or do a complete flush x 10qts price depends on dealership but can range from 17.93 to 24.93 a qt

princelybug

SUSTAINING MEMBER
SoCal
Genesis Model Type
Equus (2011-2016)
Thank you, MG8.

Is 5qts the official capacity for a drain/fill? I see the Hyundai recommended fluid is GS ATF SP-IV-RR. Has anyone tried aftermarket fluid?

Last edited:

princelybug

SUSTAINING MEMBER
SoCal
Genesis Model Type
Equus (2011-2016)
Last edited:

DSXMachina

Just passing through.
Nashua NH
Genesis Model Type
Equus (2011-2016)
Hi princelybug. I'm curious as to why you want to change the trans fluid. Do you have a very high mileage 2016 or have you been doing a lot of heavy towing? Hyundai doesn't recommend it and as a mechanic I can tell you it probably isn't necessary. If you are having a driveability problem (harsh or late shifts for instance) then it is very unlikely that a fluid change is going to make a difference. The fluid will never 'wear out' and if it has become contaminated then you have a much bigger problem than the fluid.

MG8

San Francisco/Las Vegas
Genesis Model Type
Hi princelybug. I'm curious as to why you want to change the trans fluid. Do you have a very high mileage 2016 or have you been doing a lot of heavy towing? Hyundai doesn't recommend it and as a mechanic I can tell you it probably isn't necessary. If you are having a driveability problem (harsh or late shifts for instance) then it is very unlikely that a fluid change is going to make a difference. The fluid will never 'wear out' and if it has become contaminated then you have a much bigger problem than the fluid.
09 to 11 has the 6sp that fluid is life time

DSXMachina

Just passing through.
Nashua NH
Genesis Model Type
Equus (2011-2016)
09 to 11 has the 6sp that fluid is life time