Bad catalytic converter. What are my options

Blwhit1

Hasn't posted much yet...
Hey guys,

So one afternoon my check engine light pops on and I went by the auto parts store and got this:

P0430 - malfunction within the catalyst system

So I am assuming that my CAT went out on my 2012 Sedan 3.8 and now needs replacing.

The next day, I was driving on the highway at about 95 MPH, and my car starts bogging out and the check engine light started flashing. Went back to have the codes read and got these:

P0300 - engine has a misfire that is not related to only one cylinder
P0430 - malfunction within the catalyst system
P0302 - cylinder 2 is misfiring
P0304 - cylinder 4 is misfiring
P0306 - cylinder 6 is misfiring

Now I am no car expert, but this cant be good. The car just hit 81k miles.

Here are my questions:

1. Would a bad CAT cause all those problems and would replacing the cat fix this?
2. Dealership said there were 2 cats on the car. How can I tell which one went out?
3. Is it an option to buy a aftermarket cat like this without affecting warranty and also able to pass emissions (The dealership wants $817 each) :
http://www.autozone.com/exhaust/catalytic-converter

Thanks

homeofstone

Registered Member
Athens, Georgia, USA
I think the first thing you should do is find out exactly what is wrong with the car. Guessing on problems with newer model cars just cost more money in the long run due to replacing parts not needed. Take it to a Hyundai dealer and have them diagnose what is causing the problem. You can always take it to a less expensive shop for the repair or DIY.

Mark_888

Registered Member
Genesis Model Type
1G Genesis Sedan (2009-2014)
Some items on the car related to emissions may be under warranty for a longer period of time than the rest of the car. Have your dealer look at it.

Mark_888

Registered Member
Genesis Model Type
Its a 2012, shouldn't this all be covered under the 10 yr/100k mi. powertrain warranty?