• Hint: Use a descriptive title for your new message
    If you're looking for help and want to draw people in who can assist you, use a descriptive subject title when posting your message. In other words, "2009 Genesis" isn't going to indicate to anybody that you need help. However, "Need help with my 2009 Genesis Sedan" will. Be as descriptive as you can. Please use common sense... This message can be closed by clicking the X in the top right corner.

Brake and Rotor Replacement Cost

niteflite

Registered Member
Hi. Can someone tel me how much realistically it is to get one set of brakes and rotors replaced - parts and labor? At the dealer?

Also, are hyunda brakes and rotors doable as a DIY? i am no mechanic by any means but have some tools and am willing to buy other necessary tools if it will save me hundreds of dollars.

Mark_888

Registered Member
Genesis Model Type
1G Genesis Sedan (2009-2014)
I would call around and get quotes from a dealer. In most cases you should only need new pads, and not new rotors. In some cases you may need the rotors "turned," but usually not. Even if they recommend turning the rotors (which means taking off a thin layer on a lathe), I would be very hesitant to do have it done, because sometimes they don't do it right and the rotor becomes warped. However, if you can feel the rotors are warped now, that might an indication they need to be turned.

Brakes are not something you want to mess around with unless you know what you are doing, and if they need to flush the brake fluid, the procedure on the Genesis is not straight forward.

I have never had to replace rear pads on a car I have owned, even when I drove a car 80,000 miles. The fronts take the brunt of the wear.

landtuna

Registered Member
Sandstorm, AZ