Has anybody tried fitting 2015-2018 rims from a 3.8 onto a 2009-2012 4.6?

Thread starter #1

WiscoPablo

Registered Member
LaCrosse, Wi
Genesis Model Type
1G Genesis Sedan (2009-2014)
I see there is a set of rims from 2015-2018 genesis in nice shape on the denver Craigslist for 400 for the set. I need a second set of rims for a winter set but I don't want an aftermarket rim, stock only. Initially I looked at putting the newer equus blade rims on because they look great but then when running tire prices I saw that the price was going to be too high per tire. I just replaced my rubbers with bridgestone serenity 245/50/18 in lieu of the stock 235/45/18.

Now, the rims on the newer genesis call for 245/45/18 so my tires will positively work on the rims. I'm wondering though, if the rims will work perfectly on the car. The ad says the rims are 40mm offset. The person did not day positive or negative offset and I'm not an expert in offsets.

I'm planning to slap my good rubbers on these new rims then put blizzaks on the original rims.

Here is the link to the rims in question. I'm 90% sure it will all work perfectly but I'm looking for some inside knowledge from somebody that might have done this or has already seen this combo. I debadged the car last week and it looks good but it can look better.

Here is the link in question. 2015 - 2018 Hyundai Genesis Sedan OEM wheels rims

Any suggestions or ideas, even if you haven't seen this specific setup, is appreciated. Thanks guys

rstlne

Hasn't posted much yet...
CA
Genesis Model Type
I'm surprised you went with 245/50, I thought 245/45 was a more common size, more selection and better pricing. That's another subject though.