• Hint: Use a descriptive title for your new message
    If you're looking for help and want to draw people in who can assist you, use a descriptive subject title when posting your message. In other words, "2009 Genesis" isn't going to indicate to anybody that you need help. However, "Need help with my 2009 Genesis Sedan" will. Be as descriptive as you can. Please use common sense... This message can be closed by clicking the X in the top right corner.

replacement rim specs

Gianttama

Registered Member
Genesis Model Type
No Genesis Yet!
looking to purchase rims and tires for winter, wondering what specs i need to look for. i am completely new to rims and tire sizes, looking for advice.

i have the 3.3T, but looking for 18 inches for winter to save on tire cost, found someone selling a set of wheels and the description is 5x114.3 18x8 48 offset, would that fit our car?

and if it does fit our car, what size/spec tire do i need to look for?

kmooney4

Registered Member
Maryland, USA
Genesis Model Type
No Genesis Yet!
looking to purchase rims and tires for winter, wondering what specs i need to look for. i am completely new to rims and tire sizes, looking for advice.

i have the 3.3T, but looking for 18 inches for winter to save on tire cost, found someone selling a set of wheels and the description is 5x114.3 18x8 48 offset, would that fit our car?

Be careful getting different size wheels... the overall circumference of the tires should be the same as the factory. If your winter tires have a different circumference than the factory wheels, it will screw with the odometer. Basically, the cars computer is calibrated so that every one tire rotation is x miles... if you put a smaller tire (even ever so slightly) on, one rotation is less distance travelled, so your odometer will read higher than youve actually gone... This will ultimately screw with trip odometers, mpg estimates, odometer readings, etc...