Tips on getting a "new" Genesis

sgrenald

Hasn't posted much yet...
SUSTAINING MEMBER
Genesis Model Type
2G Genesis Sedan (2015-2016)
Thread starter #1
Hi All,

I've been driving my Infiniti G35 for just over 16 years (only about 116,000 miles) and while it runs fine, I'm starting to look for a new car. The Genesis wasn't even on my radar until I saw an article in Consumer Reports that listed it as one of the best cars to buy in March. The list price is more than I want to spend, but one of the local dealers said "Well, how about used?"

So it looks like the off-lease 15s are coming in pretty steadily, and my dealer called me the other day about an Ultimate for $27,000 or so. Just wondering if any of y'all have any advice on pricing, etc.

One other thing, CR gave high marks in reliability to the 16s, 17s & 18s, but not to the 15s. I think I read here that the Hyundai extended warranty is about $1500-1700. How long does that extend the regular warranty? Bumper-to-bumper for 10 years/100k miles? I guess that would settle any reliability issues.

Thanks for the advice! (and while I'm probably the 1000th person to ask these questions, I didn't see any of the other newbies when I skimmed over the forums)

Mark_888

Registered Member
Genesis Model Type
1G Genesis Sedan (2009-2014)
Bumper-to-bumper warranty is for 5 years or 60k miles, which ever comes first. It's not really bumper-to-bumper, as it doesn't cover paint that long and some other items are covered for less time or miles. The complete details are on the Hyundai web page. There may have been some changes starting in MY 2016, per the Hyundai warranty web page.