Wheel Bearing NIGHTMARES (2011 Sedan 4.6)

jazzie366

Genesis Model Type
1G Genesis Sedan (2009-2014)
Greetings lads, new to the forum and I just got a 2011 Genesis 4.6 sedan and I LOVE it, I've tracked it a couple times and had it up to the full 155 it goes to, handles it like a champ! Love it as a luxury daily driver, I've put a lot of love into it. Also got it with only 56K on the clock from a buddy who owns a dealer near me, called me when they got it in and I got first pick before they were able to do anything to it so I got it for 10k out the door with a power-train warranty :^).

ANYWHO, I've put 6, yes, 6 wheel bearings into this thing. Specifically the right front. I've followed torque specs for installation, ~72 ft lb on the 4 bolts holding the bearing in. I replaced both of the fronts because I was told there's an issue with them causing a shake. Original ones had no play, just shook a bunch. Put two new ones in, BOTH bad within a week (API brand), just put two more new ones in after returning other bearings for refund, new ones are Carquest premium brand, drives NEARLY PERFECT except for the same shake, but extremely minor now, so potentially I mis-balanced one of the new tires I put on (Kumho ECSTA PA51).

Anyone have experience with these things eating bearings? If so, do I need new steering knuckles? Not sure where to go here, but I do think the problem is deeper than the bearings.

P.S. This is only in the front, the rear bearings have given me no issues.

Also, anybody know if you can get performance software for the ECU? I'd like to remove the speed limiter so I can have fun at wannagofast :).

PMCErnie

Been here a long time....
Richmond, VA
Genesis Model Type
You’ve had it up to 155 and you want to remove the speed limiter?

Gunkk

Registered Member
SUSTAINING MEMBER
Florida
Genesis Model Type
Three words:
Racing.
Breaks.
Stuff.

PS - No, wheel bearings are not a common pre-mature failure item on our cars.

RSpectnewbie

Registered Member
Ontario